Top 5 Songs I Never Get Tired Of

GG TOP 5

Do you have a song that you never get tired of? That you unashamedly “play to death”. And do you ever get happy when that song gets stuck in your head? Well I know I do. Here is a list of my Top 5 Songs I Never Get Tired Of:

 

#5: “Jailhouse Rock” by Elvis Presley

Every time I hear this song I immediately feel cool, (And unashamedly do the twist to). This is by far my favorite song the The King did. Written in 1957 by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, “Jailhouse Rock” was written for Presley’s third motion picture by the same name. “Jailhouse Rock” reached #1 on U.S. Billboard charts and stayed there for seven weeks! And in early ’58 it stayed at #1 for three weeks in UK charts. But this song’s popularity is no wonder considering its rocking beat and catchy tune, and of course its illustrative lyrics.

 

#4: “If The Gaff Don’t Let Us Down” by Skinny Lister

This hit by English Punk-Folk band Skinny Lister always makes me smile! It’s so happy! “If The Gaff Don’t Let Us Down” tells a beautiful story about sailing to one’s love. (This song is guaranteed to make every gal wish her lad had half this much class 😉 ) I love the happy melody and the great beat this song has. “If The Gaff Don’t Let Us Down” is from Skinny Lister’s awesome debut album “Forge and Flagon” check it out.

 

#3: “Love Me Or Leave Me” cover by Regina Spektor

This cover of “Love Me Or Leave Me” is from the Boardwalk Empire Vol. 3 Soundtrack. I can’t get over this song it’s so good! Spektor’s voice flawlessly portrays the frustration and desparity that waiting on someone to choose you can have. She perfects the 20’s Blues sound with her gentle yet pained voice. *Sighs* This woman should get some sort of award for this song!

“Love Me Or Leave Me” was originally written by Walter Donaldson and Gus Khan for the Broadway production of “Whoopee”, and sung by Ruth Etting. It has been recorded by over fifty artists in its years of existence, however (in my opinion), Regina Spektor’s cover is by far the best.

 

#4 “Precious” by JD McPherson

This song, it gets me every time. I would easily compare this song to a religious experience. Honestly if someone told me this was a hymn I wouldn’t doubt them. McPherson has done it again with this gorgeous piece from his latest album “Let The Good Times Roll“. If you can’t get through this song without at least chills, then you aren’t even human! Every time I hear this line:

“What does it mean when your blood vibrates? I thought it was a bad sign. There was a word I never tried to speak, now it’s a battle cry! It’s so precious, precious to me,…”

*Wipes tears away from eyes* For the first time I am rendered speechless. (And that doesn’t happen! One of my biggest problems in school was that I couldn’t summarize!) All I can say is listen to this song. It’s so beautiful!

 

#1 “Wild Woman” by Imelda May

My jam! From her latest album “Tribal“, Imelda May’s “Wild Woman” is the best song to rock out to. I mean full on rocking out: blaring the speakers, running through room, hair down, shouting at the top of your lungs, and air-guitar, complete with a dance routine. (Oh you think that’s the video? Haha, no that’s me while listening to this song! 😛 ) May wrote the song about how no matter how much you try in life to conform to society’s rules and responsibilities there is still that Wild Woman inside you, ready to burst out at any time! I think the reason I like this song so much is because I’m not a wild person, but this song provides the perfect opportunity to act as crazy as you like, (With curtains drawn of course!)

 

Even though these songs are in order, I still can’t say that one is better than the other. There all so good!

I hope you guys enjoyed this post! Do you have any songs that you never get tired of? Are any of these songs new favorites for you? If so please comment and let me know! Also drop a comment if there are any bands or musicians you’d like a review on.

 

Keep on Rockin’, Rollin’ and Jivin’!

Gems of Genres 😀

 

Leave a Reply

